Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Plastic Venus - Live at Roxanne

Ronit Bergman, Diamond, Hagar Magen, Yoram Gur
Even if you don't know or care who Plastic Venus are, you should definitely check this bootleg cause it contains one of the greatest cover songs ever recorded (swear to god), astonishing performance of The Sound's Winning.

Now with this being said, let me introduce to you local noise rock/shoegaze pioneers, Plastic Venus, formed in 1990, who released the following year their self titled debut album (which was actually a full live performance). Re-issued as cd in 2001with bonus tracks. Re-issued again in 2012 as an addition to a short documentary about them.

All of these are sold out as far as I know, but the reason I won't post that great piece of music is that it supposed to be re-issued once again! this time by Captured Tracks, which I hope will happen soon. (anyway it's pretty easy to find it online, be sure that you'll check if you don't know it)

1991 album is the only release of the first line up, including Yoram Gur (guitars), Ronit Bergman (vocals), Hagar Magen (bass) and Ilan "Diamond" Abramovitch (drums). Later on the group figured out they have nothing to look for in Israel, packed their stuff minus drummer and moved to London in 1993, where they released their second album, the much more shoegaze oriented Helven Park.

Live at Ha'gada Ha'smalit, 1991
Instead of the debut, I'll share with you another live show by the classic line up
Live bootleg at Roxanne, Tel Aviv (16.08.1992 or 02.1992 not quiet sure)
1. רק אם תחבק (Only If You'll Hug)
2. TV
3. משהו לא בסדר (Something's Wrong)
4. Kiss
5. 13
6. מוקיון של אלוהים (God's Clown)
7. מרזב (Gutter)
8. Yes
9. Winning (The Sound Cover)
10. מלאך (Angel)

No comments:

Post a Comment